History of the Glenroy Club

The inaugural meeting of the Probus Club of Glenroy (Mens) was held on 29th September 1988 at the Broadmeadows Rotary Clubrooms.  A committee of 10 was elected with Rotarian George Hunichen as the first President.  The first regular meeting was held on Tuesday 11th October 1988 at the Uniting Church Hall, Wheatsheaf Road, Glenroy, with 16 Foundation Members present.  During 2016, the club changed from a Probus Mens Club to become open to membership by men and women.

For many years after its formation, the Club met at the Glenroy Uniting Church Hall on the second Tuesday of the month, except after 1999, the March general meeting and AGM were held at the Masonic Centre at Oak Park.  Since 2020 all of the monthly meetings have been held at the Glenroy RSL. The monthly meetings comprise of general business and after a break for tea, coffee and good fellowship feature an interesting speaker.

Regular monthly or bi-monthly social outings and tours have played an important part in the Club's activities and have included tours as far away as Tasmania, Kangaroo Island, Flinders Ranges, Newcastle and Gosford, Norfolk Island, Cape York and New Zealand.  Club members may invite wives, husbands and friends to participate in outings and tours subject to limits on group numbers.

The club has formed a number of interest groups including a Strolling Group, a Book Club, a Technology Group and a monthly Coffee and friendship morning.  The club also holds regular outings to shows, movies and luncheons.

The membership of the Club is presently around 60, ages ranging from 59 and up. The Club has an upper limit of 105 members and is currently encouraging new member applications. Members should be aged 55 years and over and be retired or semi-retired. See further details under ‘Membership’ heading.


About Probus
Bowls & Golf
Contact Us












To contact the Webmaster Email: glenroyprobus@gmail.com